Can Plants Germinate in July?

Last week, I finally got power running in my experiments. I took some pretty drastic steps, like redoing the soil in all of my plots, to try to successfully germinate seeds two months after I should’ve planted them. I planted roughly 90,000 evening primrose seeds (Oenothera biennis). In addition, I planted 2.5 grams of seed mix (15 native wildflower species) in each plot. I have no idea how many seeds this works out to, but a conservative estimate would be roughly 10,000 seeds per plot for a total of about 320,000 seeds. I’m hoping some make it. Unfortunately, last week also happened to be a major heat wave that was incredibly dry. Even though I watered my plots three times a day, morning, noon and night, I’m doubtful that anything survived. If it’s not one thing, its another.

To hedge my bets, I also planted 150 peat pots of seeds, each with 5 – 10 seeds, that I also water three times a day. I’m hoping the potting soil helps hold moisture in and improves germination.

130719_006

If these survive, I’ll just plant the seeds and pots directly into the soil.

Also, last year I planted over 300 spicebush seeds and kept them in a cooler over the winter. I should’ve pulled them out in May, but I had no power in my plots so I couldn’t plant them. Now, I’ve pulled them out and I’m hoping they germinate as well.

130719_004

If nothing germinates in my plots or my seed cups, then I’m totally screwed. So, fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

